My New Friend

Man Wearing Vest in Kayak at RiverSince my husband’s passing, I have been exploring a new relationship.  I have known this guy since I was thirty years old, but up until recently it was a formal relationship:  I admired him from afar.  Now that I am getting to know him better, I am learning what a true friend he is.

When I am lonely, he is always available.  He is never too busy to listen to me!  I am learning to enjoy being with him, to appreciate all that he is.   His character is beginning to “rub off” on me.

He is always supportive.  I mean, this guy really “has my back.”   He sees me at my worst but still offers his care and consolation.  When I am fretting , worrying, or just plain downright angry,  he calms and quiets me.  He sees through my attempts to get attention, and is not fooled by my pride, and need to be “right” in every situation.  I know that these traits of mine sadden him, but he is not put off by them.  He hangs in there with me, guiding me toward a better attitude, a more righteous way.  He counsels me with wisdom and justice.  He improves me.

At this time in my life, he is just what I, a lonely widow, need!   He is Perfect.  He is Jesus!

Pat Lockridge, July 2017

One thought on “My New Friend

  1. Wonderful post. For a while I was beginning to wonder if maybe he was human. 🙂 But, you described Him and your relationship perfectly, and He will always be there for you. Such an assurance we have in Him that is like none other.

    Like

Leave a Reply

